Skip to Main Content
Sign In

News Faculty recognition

Image Picker for Section 0
New named professors, promotions, tenure announcements

​Appointed to named professorships are (from left) Rebecca L. Davis, Alison M. Parker and Kristen Poole.

Three College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) faculty members have been honored with named professorships, and 39 other faculty members in the College have been promoted, all effective Sept. 1.

The actions were approved by the University of Delaware Board of Trustees at its spring meeting in June. In all, the board approved the promotions of 72 faculty members throughout the University and awarded emeritus status to several retiring professors.

All the honorees were recognized at a special virtual celebration after the board meeting.

The new named professors in CAS are Rebecca L. Davis, appointed to the Miller Family Endowed Early Career Professorship in History; Alison M. Parker, Robert H. and Lydia Richards Chair of History; and Kristen Poole, Ned B. Allen Professor of English. Also appointed to a named professorship was George Parsons, Unidel E.I. du Pont Professor of Marine Studies in the College of Earth, Ocean and Environment.

Davis, who joined the Department of History faculty in 2007, specializes in the histories of gender, sexuality, religion and ethnicity in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries. Parker, who joined UD in 2019 as chair of the history department, has research and teaching interests at the intersections of gender, race, citizenship and the law in U.S. history; her biography of the civil rights activist and suffragist Mary Church Terrell, Unceasing Militant, is forthcoming from the University of North Carolina Press.

Poole, who conducts research on 16th and 17th century English literature and culture, with a particular focus on religious history and the history of science, joined UD in 1996 and, from 2017-19, was the Blue and Gold Distinguished Professor of English Renaissance Literature.

Following are the faculty promotions in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Promoted to the rank of professor were 15 associate professors who had already been granted tenure: James Allen Anderson, School of Music; Robin Andreasen, linguistics and cognitive science; Persephone Braham, languages, literatures and cultures; David Brinley, art and design; Scott Caplan, communication; Iain Crawford, English; Deni Galileo, biological sciences; Salil Lachke, biological sciences; Robyn Phillips-Pendleton, art and design; Thomas Rocek, anthropology; Joel Rosenthal, chemistry and biochemistry; Tania Roth, psychological and brain sciences; Keith Schneider, psychological and brain sciences; Joseph Trainor, Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration; and Owen White, history.

Promoted from associate professor to professor, without tenure, were Anne Colwell, Associate in Arts Program; Christine Cucciarre, English; Jill Flynn, English; Eileen Grycky, School of Music; James Keegan, Associate in Arts Program; Christopher Penna, English; and Riccarda Saggese, languages, literatures and cultures.

Eleven assistant professors were promoted to the rank of associate professor, with tenure: Jocelyn Alcántara-Garcia, art conservation; Nina David, Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration; Dayan Knox, psychological and brain sciences; Isai Jess Muñoz, School of Music; Ramona Neunuebel, biological sciences; Christopher Nichols, School of Music; Veronique Petit, physics and astronomy; Douglas Rizzolo, mathematical sciences; Noel Swanson, philosophy; Jennifer Van Horn, art history; and Shuo Wei, biological sciences.

Promoted to the rank of associate professor without tenure were John Jebb, English; Meghan McInnis-Dominguez, languages, literatures and cultures; D. Chanele Moore, Associate in Arts Program; Oyenike Olabisi, biological sciences; and Lydia Timmins, communication.

Chiara Sabina, associate professor of women and gender studies, was recommended for tenure.

New CAS emeriti faculty approved by the board are Frederick Adams, professor emeritus of linguistics and cognitive science; Stephen Barr, professor emeritus of physics and astronomy; David Colton, professor emeritus of mathematical sciences; Carol Henderson, professor emerita of Africana studies and English; Steven Peuquet, associate professor emeritus in the Joseph R. Biden, Jr. School of Public Policy and Administration; Peter Roe, professor emeritus of anthropology; and George W. Watson, Unidel Professor Emeritus of Physics and Astronomy.

Published Aug. 8, 2020

News Story Supporting Images and Text
Used in the Home Page News Listing and for the News Rollup Page
The UD Board of Trustees has announced three new named professors in CAS, as well as faculty promotions and tenure decisions.

​The UD Board of Trustees has announced three new named professors in the College of Arts and Sciences, as well as faculty promotions and tenure decisions effective Sept. 1.

Page Settings and MetaData:
(Not Shown on the Page)
Page Settings
named profs promotions 2020
MetaData for Search Engine Optimization
Faculty recognition
  • Department of History
  • 46 W. Delaware Avenue
  • Newark, DE 19716, USA
  • University of Delaware
  • Phone: 302-831-2371